You are not connected. Please login or register

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Alabama Crimson Tide football facts on Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:00 am

rosco 357

The Alabama Crimson Tide football program is a college football team that represents the University of Alabama (variously "Alabama" or "UA"). The team currently competes in NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision[3] as a member of the Southeastern Conference. The Crimson Tide is one of the most storied and decorated programs in NCAA history, claiming more national championships than any other FBS program, with 12. The team's seven consensus national championships rank second only to Notre Dame's eight.[5] The program began in 1892 and is one of the most successful in the modern era (post World War II) with 504 total victories, a .704 percent winning average.[6] From 1958 to 1982, the team was led by Hall of Fame coach Paul "Bear" Bryant, who won six national championships with the program.[2] Despite multiple national champions, no player for the program has ever received a Heisman Trophy, the closest coming in 1993 when David Palmer finished third in the voting.[7]

Alabama has won 25 conference championships, (four Southern Conference and 21 SEC championships) and has made an NCAA-record 55 postseason bowl appearances, which includes a record 31 victories.[8] Other NCAA records include eight perfect, undefeated and untied, seasons, 21 10-game win streaks, and is only second to the Oklahoma Sooners with 28 10杦in seasons. The program also leads the SEC West Division with six appearances in the SEC Championship, as well as a winning record against every SEC opponent.[9] The Associated Press (AP) currently ranks Alabama fifth in all-time final AP Poll appearances, with 45.[10] Over the program's 112 year history, Alabama has amassed 797 victories, which ranks them sixth all-time in win-loss records by the NCAA.

Alabama currently plays their home games at Bryant-Denny Stadium, located on the campus in Tuscaloosa, Alabama.[11] With the capacity of 92,128 since 2007, Bryant-Denny is currently the eighteenth largest stadium in the world and the seventh largest on-campus stadium in the United States

Year Coach Selector Record Bowl
1925 Wallace Wade H, FA, CFRA, NCF 10𢠢 Won Rose Bowl
1926 H, CFRA, NCF 9𢠣 Tied Rose Bowl
1930 Davis, CFRA 10𢠢 Won Rose Bowl
1934 Frank W. Thomas D, W, HG 10𢠢 Won Rose Bowl
1941 HG 9𣇺 Won Cotton Bowl
1961 Bear Bryant AP, Coaches 11𢠢 Won Sugar Bowl
1964 AP, Coaches 10𢴎 Lost Orange Bowl
1965 AP 9𢴏 Won Orange Bowl
1973 Coaches 11𢴎 Lost Sugar Bowl
1978 AP 11𢴎 Won Sugar Bowl
1979 AP, Coaches 12𢠢 Won Sugar Bowl
1992 Gene Stallings AP, Coaches 13𢠢 Won Sugar Bowl
Total National Championships 12

List of conference championships
Year Conference Overall Record Conference Record
1924 Southern 8-1 5-0
1925 Southern 10-0 7-0
1926 Southern 9-0-1 8-0
1930 Southern 10-0 8-0
1933 SEC 7-1-1 5-0-1
1934 SEC 10-0 7-0
1937 SEC 9-1-0 6-0
1945 SEC 10-0 6-0
1953 SEC 6-3-3 4-0-3
1961 SEC 11-0 7-0
1964 SEC 10-1 8-0
1965 SEC 9-1-1 6-1-1
1966 SEC 11-0 6-0
1971 SEC 11-1 7-0
1972 SEC 10-2 7-1
1973 SEC 11-1 8-0
1974 SEC 11-1 6-0
1975 SEC 11-1 6-0
1977 SEC 11-1 7-0
1978 SEC 11-1 6-0
1979 SEC 12-0 6-0
1981 SEC 9-2-1 6-0
1989 SEC 10-2 6-1
1992 SEC 13-0 8-0
1999 SEC 10-3 7-1
Total conference championships 25

View previous topic View next topic Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum